(No) Snow Birds

The sun has been shining and temperatures hovered in the mid-forties for the past few days.  Not bad for December in northern Michigan.  Even so, this late in the year the pickings are sparse, and the birds appreciate the seed we put in the feeders.  I appreciate them stopping by during the day so I can make some images.

So as part of the deal with the birds, I took photos as they pecked at the seed.  I used my 200 – 500mm lens on my Sony A77 (Factoring in the crop factor, I effectively have a 300 – 750mm of lens.) and from the comfort of our kitchen made these shots over the past couple of days.  I adjusted my shutter speed between 1/500 and 1/1000, set the aperture at f11 and (because the birds were fluttering in and out of the sun and shade) set ISO on auto.

Here are handful of the shots I liked.

Dan

December 8, 2015

20030605 Grand Marsis-281

20030605 Grand Marsis-7720030605 Grand Marsis-20220030605 Grand Marsis-310

 

 

About Dan Welihan

Photographer, teacher

Posted on December 8, 2015, in Creativity & Composition, Digital Single Lens Reflex, Just for Fun, Photos. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on (No) Snow Birds.

Comments are closed.

Why Michigan

A Southern Family in Northern Michigan

A Certain Slant of Light Photography

... the landscape listens, shadows hold their breath

Great Lakescapes

Michigan Nature & Landscape Photoblog by Neil Weaver

Joe McNally's Blog

The Blog of Joe McNally

Michigan in Pictures

Photos of the Great Lakes State

