Lost and Found

It’s been a week and a half since the July 4th and I finally found the USA t-shirt I wanted to wear on the holiday. It’s the one shirt I keep in a special place so I can easily find it on the one day a year I wear it. Couldn’t lay my hands on it July 4th, but stumbled right onto it yesterday.  It was in a pretty good spot at the bottom of a box where I keep my old t-shirts. Had I looked in the box I am sure I would have found it.  I just tucked the box away too well. So I put it back in the box and have every hope of finding it next summer.  (Somebody remind me about July 1 next year, where I put it.)

 
We had a lot of fun with family and friends over the holiday.  We went to the local parade, the grandkids did some fishing -and catching too.  We ate a lot of good food, toasted marshmallows in our fire pit and, in the evening, drove back into to town to watch a terrific fireworks display.

 
The 4th of July is a colorful holiday with all the reds, whites and blues and I took a lot of pictures.  But my favorite image (below) was close to my last shot of the day as the fireworks was winding down.  It was okay in color, but when I stripped out the color, I found something different… blacks and whites instead of the rocket’s red glare.

It was the end of a good day for our country and with our family.

Dan

 

Welihan 20140704 fireworks-0613

About Dan Welihan

Photographer, teacher

Posted on July 18, 2014, in Just for Fun, Photos. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Lost and Found.

Comments are closed.

Cordwood Point Association

On Beautiful Lake Huron

Why Michigan

A Southern Family in Northern Michigan

A Certain Slant of Light Photography

... the landscape listens, shadows hold their breath

Great Lakescapes

Michigan Nature & Landscape Photoblog by Neil Weaver

Joe McNally's Blog

The Blog of Joe McNally

Michigan in Pictures

Photos of the Great Lakes State

