Cheboygan Area Photography Club Starts May 23…

At the encouragement of several of my photography students, with the offer to help from friends and because I’ve kicked the idea around for a while myself, I’m starting a photography club.  An organizational meeting for the club will be held at the Cheboygan Area Public Library on Thursday May 23, 2013.  The meeting starts at 6:00 p.m. and is open to anyone interested in photography. 

I know there are many avid photographers in the Cheboygan area.  They have attended my classes and I’ve seen the photos of many good photographers around Cheboygan.  I hope a photography club attracts a wide range of folks from beginners to professional photographers.  If in the process we learn a thing or two from each other, take some good pictures and have some fun along the way, then it will be a success.   

Sharing photo ideas and information, taking some photography day trips and the promotion of photography in the community seems to me like a good place to start.  As the club grows and evolves I am sure there will be other objectives and goals added.

To help at the first meeting, I asked my friend and neighbor, Neil Rankin, to talk about his life as a commercial photographer at Western Michigan University.  Over the years Neil has photographed two U.S. presidents, dozens of sports figures and covered hundreds of other events for Western.  Neil will show some of his work and tell us what it’s like to be a photographer on a college campus.

If you would like to join, but cannot attend this meeting, feel free to contact me or just wait until June.  We have meetings scheduled for the fourth Thursday of the month at the Library through August.

 

Whether you like to take photos of peaceful lakes or more inclined to search for wild animals, this club is for you…

welihan 20131022 Mac Island-1224welihan 20111001 Tahquamenon Falls-2269

About Dan Welihan

Photographer, teacher

Posted on May 5, 2013, in Just for Fun, Photographers. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Cheboygan Area Photography Club Starts May 23….

Comments are closed.

Why Michigan

A Southern Family in Northern Michigan

A Certain Slant of Light Photography

... the landscape listens, shadows hold their breath

Great Lakescapes

Michigan Nature & Landscape Photoblog by Neil Weaver

Joe McNally's Blog

The Blog of Joe McNally

Michigan in Pictures

Photos of the Great Lakes State

